Math Daily 3 in a Multi Year Level Classroom

I have been using the Daily 5 in English for the past 5 years and love it, so this year after reading about the Math Daily 3 on the Daily Cafe webpage I thought I would give it a go. I teach a Year 5/6 class so it has always been a challenge to teach two different year levels of the curriculum as well as catering for all the different learning needs of the students.

Last year I ran something similar to the Math Daily 3 without quite having the structure that it provides. So what is the Math Daily 3?

The Math Daily 3 is a framework for structuring math time so students develop deep conceptual understanding and mathematical proficiency.

How does it work?

Students work on three different tasks, working independently toward personalised goals, while I meet individual needs through whole-group and small-group instruction, as well as one-on-one conferring.

Students work on:

  • Math by Myself
  • Math Writing
  • Math with Someone

So what does my lesson look like?

math daily 3

Each day we warm up using Kahoot, practicing our times tables or specific math processes we have been learning about such as angles or fractions conversions.Students love the game show style competition of Kahoot and the class is in three teams with the top five performers each day scoring points for their team.

IMG_3928

Independent Tasks

Math by Myself: Last year my students used an adaptive Math app called FrontRow. This app even though it is based on the US Standards rather than the Australian curriculum still covers all the same content. Students take a diagnostic to identify what they excel in and what they would benefit most from practicing.for each of the different strands and then the app gives them questions to help them to develop their knowledge. Students are presented with a series of questions as well as video explanations of how to solve those sort of problems. If a student is struggling with a certain concept the app will suggest three other students in the class who have already mastered that skill who could peer tutor them. To me, this has been the most powerful part of the app as it encourages children to teach others allowing them to develop a deeper understanding of the concept. This app is fantastic at meeting the needs of those high-flying students who are looking for some more challenging concepts as well as those strugglers who need extra help at grasping a concept. Each week I receive an email telling me who has improved the most and who my top students are for each strand. It also tells me who hasn’t improved and how many questions students have answered during the week so I can see who is on task and who might need some extra encouragement.

IMG_3930

Math with Someone: This is by far my students favourite thing to do. Students partner up and work through set tasks with the purpose of explaining their ideas to the class at the end of the lesson. The tasks allow students to have experience with talking and writing about mathematics as they describe and explain their thinking to peers.  The Collaboration with a peer working on mathematic concepts helps students identify, simplify, organise, express, and extend their thinking.

I have been setting the students a series of open-ended challenges so students can develop their problem-solving skills and stimulate their higher order mathematical thinking. I have found  nrich maths  an excellent source of engaging activities for the students. Each week I will place some tasks in a Padlet which the students access and complete.

IMG_3882

Math Writing:  This task is the time students express and articulate their thinking and understanding by working an a particular math problem or math concept through pictures, numbers, and words, and occasionally by creating problems of their own as well. I set open ended tasks that students can complete by themselves to extend whatever concept we have been learning about in class. At the end of the week I use this time to have the students reflect on what they have learnt about during the week and to record their learning in their blogs.

fast 

blog

Teaching Time: While the students are spending time on these independent tasks I then have the opportunity to work with each year level on the curriculum they need to cover as well as catching up with individuals and small groups who need further consolidation of the concept taught the day before.

I Do: We start with a short sharp lesson on the concept of the day.

We Do: We then gather again and work through some problems together on the whiteboard relating to the concept.

You Do: We gather again and students work independently on extensions of the problems we were working with during “We Do” which we then discuss as a group.

Small Group and Individual Lessons – At the end of each lesson I have the students rate themselves on our class parking lot whether they consider themselves a Novice, Apprentice, Practitioner or Expert. This then allows me to plan who I will need to follow up on the following day to ensure we get their knowledge of the concept up to at least a Practitioner.

rate

Does it work?

I am only about to start week 4 of the school year but I am absolutely loving using the Math Daily 3. It has provided me a structure that is allowing me to meet all the individual mathematical needs of my students as well as an efficient structure for me to deliver two different year levels of curriculum during the same lesson.

Thumbs up for the Math Daily 3!

Leave a Reply

